Missouri Opening Day Success!

After patterning this deer, passing him in previous years and waiting until he was mature to shoot was one of the most rewarding things I have experienced as a hunter.  Last night was opening day of Missouri’s Archery Season and fortunately a buck we call Junior was still sticking to his pattern that our Reconyx cams were showing.  After watching him close a distance of 150 yards for about an hour he offered me a 15 yard shot.  He didn’t leave the field before crashing.  I cannot wait for this to air on Season 4!  I really owe Mike a big thanks for scouting this deer out most of the summer!

Shawn

~ by Shawn Luchtel on September 16, 2010.

13 Responses to “Missouri Opening Day Success!”

  1. […] Missouri Opening Day Success! […]

  2. WOW WHAT A BUCK!!!

    A huge gratz for bagging this buck. I was wondering if he was still around. It was 100% worth the wait.

  3. That is an awesome buck.

  4. Great Job Shawn and Mike, thats how its done. He’s an absolute stud! Congrats

  5. Congrats on a great opening day buck.

  6. I don’t think people realize how many hours were put in on this one buck. At this point it did not matter who the trigger man was, only that you were both together in the tree when this 3 year story came to an end. Congrats to the both of you and way to hold it together Shawn when Junior finally presented you with a shot. What an awesome way to kick off the MO deer season……you set the bar high!

  7. Congradulations!! That is what it is all about, I know this inspires me to keep making good management decisions.

  8. Awsome guys way to put in the hard work it looks like it really paid off congrats.

  9. Great story and a great buck. Can’t wait to see the hunt. Congratulations!

  10. Awesome buck! – I love the show and can’t wait to see the footage of the hunt!

  11. Nice buck! Just curious where is Jeff? I haven’t seen him on the show but maybe once or twice. Nothing against the rest of ya’ll we just used to seeing Jeff and checking on him.

  12. UNBELIEVABLE BUCK! Mike had text me a picture of Jr earlier, I had no idea you had got him. SWEET! Congrats Shawn!

  13. OH MAN you have some of his sheds to, awesome!

Leave a comment